Samsung N310 Ubuntu

May 11, 2009 at 7:46 pm 11 comments

A new post after a looooong time…

I replaced my Acer Aspire One netbook for the Samsung N310. It has a 10inch screen, Atom inside, 1GB of Ram, 160GBs of space and a nice keyboard. Almost everything works on it after installing Ubuntu 9.04. The only thing that doesn’t work is the brightness control with the ‘Fn’ keys (the power manager works though).So if your looking for a Ubuntu ready netbook, buy this one!

blog

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Ubuntu 8.04.1 on my Aspire One Usability in names

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Acer  |  May 12, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Acer Aspire One AOD150-1165
    I was looking for a compact laptop that I could use between home and work and also take on my frequent road trips to visit my family. My biggest gripe about laptops in the past has been the short battery life, so I was very pleased when my Acer came from Amazon yesterday (April 9th) with the 5800mAh battery. I don’t know about speed with the standard 1GB memory because I replaced mine with 2GB (so easy a caveman can do it) before I ever turned it on. But it boots up fast and is surprisingly quick. I love the size. It fits perfectly in my leather notebook. I touch type and while the keyboard is a little small it is very easy to get used to. Like some have reported, the touchpad buttons are a little stiff but they have a positive feel to them. It’s a non-issue with me because I hate touchpads in general and use them only in a pinch. I found a nice little Logitech USB mouse for about $19 that’s even a perfectly matching cobalt blue. The first option you will need for most any of these netbooks is a good USB DVD burner to load your software and make backup emergency disks. I bought one just before I bought the netbook. The 10″ display is bright and extremely sharp. The setup was simple I was up and running on my wireless network in less than 5 minutes. Most of my time was spent removing bloatware and building emergency recovery disks. This is really a great little computer with a solid feel and very attractive to look at. At the price you cannot beat this little netbook.

  • 2. lockwooddev  |  May 12, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    You better sell it and buy a samsung πŸ˜€
    Does it run Ubuntu?

  • 3. quefyx  |  May 27, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Sell both your Acer’s and Samsung and get an Eee PC Seashell 1008HA! πŸ™‚

    It runs Ubuntu!

  • 4. Daniel Smedegaard Buus  |  June 7, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Have you tried the HSPA modem (that is, if yours has one). I was thinking about replacing my (BIOS broken) VAIO TX3 with this one, and add a 3G HSPA based internet subscription for complete freedom, but I’m not sure about compatibility with Linux.

    Also, what kind of battery life are you getting?

    Did you get the screen brightness thing to work? And if not controllable via Fn key combos, can you set if via software? (Then we can just add a command to a key combo of our own πŸ˜‰ )

  • 5. Daniel Smedegaard Buus  |  June 7, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Oh, and one more question. The LED-backlit LCD. Does this eliminate the “gray shades effect” you get with regular LCDs? I.e., is black black from all angles?

    Thanks πŸ™‚

  • 6. That Guy  |  July 23, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    FYI the Eee PC Seashell 1008HA doesnt run ubuntu…. well not completely, there isnt a ubuntu driver for the NIC so no interwebs :*(

  • 7. John Tromp  |  August 19, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    My N310 running UNR 9.04 has the screen going dark
    when I switch to battery power. So I’m also very keen
    to learn whether anyone has a brightness control fix…

    -John

  • […] – 9 Hour Battery Life: Computer & Accessories * Potentially runs Ubuntu (brightness issues?) Samsung N310 Ubuntu Lockwoods Blog * Not available locally (Houston, TX) as far as I can tell. 5. Samsung N120 * PC World mentions […]

  • 9. feicipet  |  October 4, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    I just got one of these earlier today and installed Karmic Beta on it. Wifi was not detected at all 😦 Can I know how you managed to get the wifi on yours working and whether it required significant effort on your part? Thanks!

  • 10. Favio  |  October 29, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Its an amazing netbook, I have got the same and it now performs so cool under Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick.

    Great choice!

  • 11. Favio  |  October 29, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    Did anyhow get to activate SRS sound with Ubuntu in this jewel?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

