Ubuntu 8.04.1 on my Aspire One

August 23, 2008 at 9:41 am 6 comments

I’ve been a bit unhappy with my pre-installed linpus linux, so I decided to install Ubuntu on my Aspire One. Ubuntu is one of the best GNU/Linux distributions out there with a great community.

Firstly I tried to boot the Ubuntu 8.04 liveCD, but it it didn’t work for me. After some reading in the Aspireoneuser forum, I discovered that some people had the same problems and tried Ubuntu 8.04.1 which works. (so remember: never download the x.x version but the x.x.1 one :D)

All the installing went fine and I followed this tutorial to install some hardware and configure the SSD:

Help@Ubuntu

There are some good things about installing Ubuntu:

  • You can now write and read Windows partitions
  • You can access Windows networks
  • More installable packages (like conky for example)
  • Up to Date packages (OpenOffice, FF3, 3D drivers)
  • Login security

And of course the bad things:

  • Crappy flash framerates and no sound
  • All the hardware installing
  • SSD performs slower (I have the Intel SSD)
  • Startup times slower
Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Aspire One – Conky Samsung N310 Ubuntu

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. oscar  |  December 7, 2008 at 6:20 am

    You can try ubuntu UNR, i have installed on packard-bell dot , a clon of acer aspire one, and work fine.even you can install using an usb stick.
    It recognize all hardware .Great.Have a fun!

  • 2. lockwooddev  |  December 7, 2008 at 11:15 am

    I heard that the new Fedora 10 will do everything out of the box.

    But anyway, thanks for the tip 🙂

  • 3. simser  |  December 8, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I installed Fedora 10 on a memory stick (based on Live x686 version) and tried
    to boot from it on my Aspire One (150) and it works great. Everything I need is recognized immediately. WLAN works
    (was not obvious on my previous 6 years old notebook), camera ? I don’t know, do not need that
    Fedora boot speed from stick is not worse than Windows boot speed from HD.

    Good luck

  • 4. Stuart Palmer  |  December 14, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    I`ve bought my wife an Aspire One and loaded it with Ubuntu Hardy Heron.
    Problems still are.
    1. Will not run Skype – “unable to use audio”
    2. Will not recognise USB speakers
    3. Will not mount SD card.

    I read up and try different things but havent found a solution to any of these yet. Cant find loader.conf(5) to load new sound driver is just a typical problem.

    Anyone solved any of the above?

  • 5. lockwooddev  |  December 15, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    You should try Ubuntu 8.10 intrepid ibex. It should fix all of your problems.

    By the way, did you buy the Aspire One with SSD or harddisk?

  • 6. G. Lynn  |  May 18, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Try Jaunty. Works Gr8

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

