Acer Aspire One, the beginning…

August 5, 2008 at 1:55 pm 7 comments

The next 4 years of my life I need to travel 100km a day per train from Amsterdam to Almere for my study. The Aspire One is a great netbook for traveling, so I bought this machine last Saturday. It cost me 299 euros and it came without it’s bag :(.

The Acer Aspire One A110 comes with Linpus pre-installed. Linpus is a Linux distribution based on Fedora.

Here are some pictures and screen shots:

(I ran: Pygame, pyGTK and Python in the last 3 screenshots)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Math-XO update #3 Aspire One – Conky

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ford  |  November 13, 2008 at 4:08 am

    OK, I can run Python in terminal, but is there any development environment installed? Or one I can download, without switching from Linpus to Ubuntu?

  • 2. lockwooddev  |  November 18, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Try downloading “Geany” or “IDLE”
    (I can’t try it out for you. My one is now running Xubuntu)

  • 3. linpusman  |  December 21, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    i have a big problem how do i download pygame for linpus which fedora version do i get the rpm for??

  • 4. lockwooddev  |  December 22, 2008 at 11:05 am

    It’s in the package manager

  • 5. Wheaton  |  March 14, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Now that it’s been 7 months, are you happy with the machine? i’m looking to get a “programming” machine (the Acer one, 512 Mb RAM) that I can have with me at all times – a stripped down computer to write my python programs on. Do you still like your Acer?

  • 6. lockwood  |  March 16, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I wouldn’t recommend you to buy the Aspire One for programming. The RAM is too low and the standart linux that comes with it is not as good as ubuntu. Also the screen is too small to do serious work on.

    The netbooks I would recommend you to buy for python programming are the Samsung NC20 (the one with the 12inch screen) or the Dell mini 12 (also 12 inch screen)

    I hope this will help you 🙂

  • 7. boot  |  November 19, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Acer Aspire One AOD250-1165
    This model is fairly new. So it has the usual features, i.e. built in wi-fi, camera, 160 GB drive, etc, etc. This is the 3 hr battery model. I have no idea where Amazon gets their tech specs. We just bought this and the manual states that it comes with 1 GB of RAM, and is upgradeable to 2 GB. It recognized 4 wireless connections in my area the instant it was powered on. So far it’s great for what it was bought for, the internet, small low demand games, music, simple word processing…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

